Monday, June 10, 2013

Spellman Honors Student Athletes

BRONX, NEW YORK, JUNE 10- Cardinal Spellman High School recognized the contributions of over 325 student athletes at the Block "S" awards dinner held at the school. 
President of Cardinal Spellman, Rev. Trevor Nicholls, and Mr. Daniel O'Keefe, Principal, welcomed everyone in attendance, and acknowledged the hard work and dedication of the coaches in developing the athletic talents of the students. Mr. O'Keefe praised the athletes for developing concepts of self-discipline, motivation, and responsibility as Spellman "Pilots."
The evening included the induction into the Spellman Hall of Fame of  three longtime supporters of Spellman athletics: Linda Mazzo, Chairperson of the Foreign Language Department, and Daniel and Gloria (Perri) O'Connell of the Class of 1972. For over 20 years, Linda Mazzo was the Varsity Cheerleading Coach at Spellman, whose teams won many awards in competitions while also performing at numerous school events. Daniel O'Connell (currently on the school's Board of Trustees) played Baseball and Football as a Spellman student, while his wife Gloria was a member of the Cheerleading squad. The O'Connells have been generous donors to Cardinal Spellman High School and its athletic programs over the years.
The night also featured the presentation of the Schiazza "S", which is given to students who have received eight or more varsity letters over their four year high school career. It is named in honor of the late Salvatore Schiazza, who served at the school as Athletic Director, Moderator of the Alumni Association, and member of the Board of Trustees. Seniors Felicia Cantine, Amanda McKenna and Danielle McKenna were recipients of the 2013 Schiazza "S."
Scholar-Athletes, recognized for their excellence in both athletics and academics, were Yugi Paul, (attending St. John's University in September), Chance Peavy (Ithaca), Angelique Arroyo (Syracuse), and  Michele Mack (Lehman). Athletes of the Year were Colleen Kallop and Kyle Benjamin. The following received the Most Valuable Player award in their respective sports: Baseball: Joseph Colon and Nick Padilla; Boys' Basketball: Dominic Arena and Anthony Williams; Girls' Basketball: Maria Backman; Bowling: Felicia Cantine and Thomas Montilli; Football: Jalen Miller; Boys' Soccer: Malik Cameron; Girls' Soccer: Rebecca D'Aloia; Cheerleading: Kaliyah Burris; Softball: Angelique Arroyo; Boys' Indoor Track: Lamar Gillespie; Boys' Outdoor Track: Luther Gillespie; Girls' Indoor Track: Luana Bowers; Girls' Outdoor Track: Felicia Cantine; Field: Andrea Amorosa; Boys' Cross-Country: Danny Mota; Girls' Cross-Country: Rebecca Mota and Tori Graves Parker; Boys' Volleyball: Jason Darko and Lloydell McCalla; Girls' Volleyball: Colleen Kallop; Girls' Lacrosse: Jioni Mehciz and Caterina Velazquez, and Boys' Lacrosse: Kyle Phillips.

No comments:

Post a Comment